Devil Survivor 14: Loose Cannon COMP


: She’s right… I can sense a bunch of them nearby.

: Wait, when did you guys turn psychic?

: Demons, huh…?  What should we do?

: Simple.  If fighting is sure to result in victory, then we must fight!

: You seem pretty confident.

: Hey, we’re not slated to die for another two days.

: But we just proved that doesn’t actually mean anything.

: Oh well, it’s too late now.

: My money’s on “warp zone.”


: Called it.

: No you didn’t.

: This must be why there are so many demons here…

: Yeah…  We have to do something about it, or they’ll keep coming!

: Just try not to get telefragged, okay?

(This fight’s basically just here to introduce the ‘demon spawn point’ mechanic, so I’m using the same party as last time.)

(This time around, we’ve got two passive abilities to pick up.  + skills give physical attacks a chance to inflict a status effect.  They’re somewhat useful, but by the end you’ve got much better passives for your physical characters.  Mana Bonus gives a slight boost to the character’s MP pool, which is good since you will run out of MP in longer fights, even early on.)

(There’s not a whole lot of variety in placements, but I still managed to make a bad decision here.)


: How should I know?

(Rogue COMPs appear as red-and-yellow squares on the map.  They’ll spawn a new team of demons every couple of turns until you walk over and pick them up.  This isn’t the last time we’ll see them, but they’re not terribly common.)

(This one’s a gimme.  You can easily take care of it before it spawns any demons.)

: Oh boy, I smell a mini-

The miasma disappeared when the COMP was stopped.

: Nevermind.

: Yesssss!  We have to stop the other COMP now!

(This is where I messed up the positions.  Atsuro has a Moh Shuvuu, whose racial ability lets you move an extra space.  If I had put him on the right-hand side, or given Trielo the Moh Shuvuu, I could have taken the initiative and attacked on the first turn.)

(Anyway, about ten minutes and a couple of close calls later, I cleared out the last of the demons without making it over to the other COMP.)

: You’re getting used to beating up demons?  That’s either psychotic or awesome.

: Or both!  Anyway, let’s pick up that other COMP and get out of here.

(You don’t need to actually clear out the COMPs, so long as you get rid of all the demons.)

: Now… how could demons have come out of the COMP on their own?

: What I want to know is, why’s there a COMP on the ground here?

: And by dropped, I mean…

: Yeah.  Someone got an altered COMP, fired it up… and then the demons came.

: Demons drive me crazy.

: Huh… so whoever it was…

: Yep.

: Hope it wasn’t anybody we know.

: …

: Oh.  I guess the demons we summon come from somewhere, huh?  You think there’s a world of demons on the other side of the COMP?

: Well, anything’s possible…

: Well, if there is a world of demons, then that means the COMP is transporting them here, right?  So then, technically, that makes the COMPs…

: No.  No it doesn’t.

: Anyway, this COMP might come in handy later.  Let’s take it with us.

: Fine, but you have to carry it.

: Oh, I figured that out.

: Wait, when’d you do that?

: I’ve had plenty of time.  As it turns out, the Demon Summoning Program is a client.

: Client…?  Can you explain that in regular-people words?

: God dammit Yuzu.

: Alright, I don’t feel like explaining this twice, so pay attention.  Programs come in two types: Standalone software and networked software.  The networked kind are made up of a host and a client.

: P2P doesn’t count.  That’s for pirates.


(I just thought Yuzu’s expression changing was funny.)

: Seriously you don’t have to explain this shit.

: Urgh, I still don’t get it…  You’re gonna have to explain this some more.

: God dammit Yuzu what did I just say?

: [Sigh.]

: All the client does is send a request to the server and receive the results.  The server does all the actual processing, so even a low-end machine can run the client.  These COMPs aren’t particularly powerful, but they have good networking routines and can just pull data from the server.

: So… basically… these COMPs don’t actually do much.  All the real work is done on the server, and the COMP just uses the results from there?

: Whoa, you got it!

: Praise the Lord.

: So… where’s this server thing?

: That’s a good question.

: Wow, two miracles in a row.

: It really is, though.  I have no idea where the server is, and I don’t have any way to look for it right now.  I could try and trace it, but not with a normal PC…

: Would that actually do anything for us?

: If we can find the server, we can monkey with it all we want.  In theory, we could summon and dismiss demons at will.

: I’m down with near-omnipotence.

: I know, right?  It’d be a blast!

: Uh… I think it’s more important to find a way out first!

: Personally, I’d rather become unto God than go home.

: No, Degrassi’s set in Canada, not Japan.  Don’t worry, I get them mixed up all the time too.

: No, not that kind.  It’s… internet withdrawal!  A really bad case, too… I haven’t logged on in days!

: …Seriously?

: No, you don’t get it!  I’m missing so much!  It’ll take me hours to catch up to the pony thread!

: Uh.

: Don’t you judge me!

: …Anyway, speaking of the ‘net, a girl in the class next to ours had her bike stolen.

: Wait, how does that-

: Well, see, she made a pissed-off post about it on her blog, asking her readers for info…

: Oh, okay.  I get it now.

: And what do you know, some guy out there had seen the bike abandoned on the street!  Pretty amazing, huh?  Even a stranger might be a friend on the Internet!

: Besides, I question the friendliness of guys who read high school girls’ blogs.

: I guess you could see it that way, but… if she hadn’t posted, she’d never have gotten it back.  I dunno, I think it’s cool.

: You know… with all this walking we’ve been doing, a bike would be pretty handy.  Maybe I can just “borrow” one…

: Think again, Atsuwrong!

: You’ve got a real mean streak sometimes, you know that?

: Keep this up and I might just tolerate you.

(Next time, we’ll end day 1.)

About this entry